With All Their Technology…

I finally got around to buying FTM 2011 the other day.  I had my evening clear, and was looking forward to playing with some of the new features it has, and I foolishly assumed that I would be given a link to download it and I’d be on my way.  Nope!  All the technology Ancestry has, and their flagship product being an online service, yet they have to ship it to me.  So I also got to pay extra for the shipping and sales tax (if I could have just downloaded it, since there was no physical item, it would not have been subject to sales tax).  I can’t think of a single software vendor that hasn’t gone to downloading software instead of handling physical media.  Come on guys.  You already have 99% of the technology in place, just a little further…

Leave a Reply

